Happy Thanksgiving NASCAR Nation

READS: 1,350
Updated: November 27, 2013
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse

Let me start by wishing the entire NASCAR family a very Happy Thanksgiving. As we all continue our holiday celebration, the top 10 Cup Series drivers, their crews, the owners and the driver’s families will be on their way to Las Vegas to begin a week-long party in their honor from Dec 2nd to Dec 6th. 

Beginning the celebration with a victory lap down the Vegas Strip, then lunch on Thursday to present honors like the Most Popular Driver award, which has been won by fan favorite Dale Earnhardt Jr. for the 10 years. Rumor has it that rookie driver Danica Patrick could also be the fan favorite to win the award this year. Patrick is also up for Rookie of the Year along with fellow driver/boyfriend Ricky Stenhouse Jr., who we already know had enough points to take that honor.

Larger honors will be presented at a NASCAR banquet being held Friday December 6th at 8pm EST. The top 10 drivers will attend the Friday night banquet that will be carried live on FOX Sports2, and a replay of the banquet will air on FoxSports1 December 8th at 12pm EST.

Hosting the NASCAR banquet this year will be a familiar host to the festivities, comedian Jay Mohr Jay Mohr. Joining Mohr on stage will be musicians Dierks Bentley, John Mellencamp and Sara Bareilles. 

In official NASCAR Series news, here are the final driver’s standings for this season. 1) Jimmie Johnson (2) Matt Kenseth-19 points behind Johnson, (3) Kevin Harvick-34 points (4) Kyle Busch-55 Points (5) Dale Earnhardt, Jr-56 points (6) Jeff Gordon- 82 points (7) Clint Bowyer-83 points (8)Joey Lagano-96 points (9) Greg Biffle-98 points (10) Kurt Busch-100 points behind Johnson.

Rounding out the rest of the Chase drivers (11) Ryan Newman-133pts (12) Kasey Kahane-136 points behind Johnson. Last years champion Brad Keselowski finished the year in 14th place.

photo (2)

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *